Thursday, 17 April 2014

61st National Film Awards 2013

The 61st National Film Awards for the year 2013 in the Feature Film category, Non-Feature Film category and Best Writing on Cinema were announced on 16th April at a press conference held at the National Media Centre. 
Anand Gandhi-directed ‘Ship of Theseus’ was named best feature film while Nishtha Jain’s ‘Gulabi Gang’ won the award for best movie on social issues in the non-feature film category. 
Meanwhile, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra’s ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ won the award for best popular film providing wholesome entertainment. 
Among other categories, Hansal Mehta won the best director award for ‘Shahid’ that traces the true story of a slain human rights activist and a lawyer Shahid Azmi in the backdrop of communal violence unleashed in Mumbai. Rajkumar Rao also won best actor for ‘Shahid’ which he shared with Suraj Venjaramoodu for Malayalam movie ‘Perariyathavar.’ 
Geetanjali Thapa won the best actress award for ‘Liar’s Dice’, while Arshad Warsi’s ‘Jolly LLB’ won the best Hindi film award. Saurabh Shukla, who played a no-nonsense judge in the movie, bagged the best supporting actor (male) for the movie. 
Best supporting actor (female) award was shared by Amruta Subhash for Marathi film ‘Astu’ and Aida El-Kashef for ‘Ship of Theseus’. 
The Indira Gandhi award for best debut film of a director went to the Marathi film ‘Fandry’ directed by Nagraj Manjule which provides a stark and realistic portrayal of Dalits in India seen through the eyes of a young boy. 
‘Aajcha Diwas Majha’, directed by Chandrakant Kulkarni, was adjudged the Best Marathi Film, while Laxmikant Shetgaonkar’s ‘Baga Beach’ won the award for Best Konkani Film. 
Bela Shende won Best Female Playback for the song ‘Khura Khura’ in the Marathi film ‘Tuhya Dharma Koncha’. 
Alaka Shawano of Indian Express, Mumbai, won the award for best film critic, while Nandgopal’s book on film-making in Telugu ‘Cinema ga cinema’ was adjudged the best book on cinema. 
The 61st National Film Awards will be presented by the President of India Pranab Mukherjee in New Delhi on 3 May.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Hathway & ZEEL make out-of-court settlement

On 20 February, broadcaster ZEEL had moved the Telecom Disputes Settlement and Appellate Tribunal (TDSAT) to recover outstanding dues from ...